Morning musings

There are always events photogs have to cover that they don’t really want to. Some events are easy. You can get wrapped up in the environment and feed off of the crowd/setting.

This particular day, I remember waking up early on a Saturday morning to photograph a dodgeball tournament. Who plays dodgeball that early in the morning?

I messed with all my camera settings and sat down on the floor. I was ready…and the event wasn’t supposed to start for another hour or so.¬†Why did I come so early?

I’ll confess I was zoning out a bit as I sat there. But something caught my attention.

The light. The light from the early morning sun was shining through the glass wall on the far side of the gym. The light bounced eagerly off the reflective floor and sent the rays going every which way.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 4.14.58 PM

It was beautiful.

I doubt anyone else in the gym really noticed. The players were warming up. The event organizers were registering teams and getting their supplies.

But the glorious light alone kept me 1. awake and 2. motivated to capture whatever dramatic dodgeball activity that lay ahead.

Leave a Reply

